Writing is Hard

Posted: December 2, 2012 in Editing

My head is spinning and feels like jello…

Last night, I finished up the first round of edits of my book. It was quite painful. I’d been doing that for the last four weeks or so, and it’s good to finally have a (almost) final product done.

This morning up to 2:30 in the afternoon, I read through the whole thing, doing some minor edits.

This whole writing thing is kinda hard.

I have no idea if what I’ve written is good enough. I think I’m too close to it to look at it objectively. Overall, I like it and feel like it’s better than my last effort.

There don’t seem to be that many typos. I fixed only a few on my read-through. There are probably more, but my mind is protesting the thought of going over it again. At least, for now.

It’s only a 40,000 word novella, but for some reason it feels like a full book. Still, it’s good to feel like I’m mostly done with it.

I just need a break before going back to it. I’ve been working really hard on it and haven’t taken much time to relax.

More or less, I think what I have now is the final product that will go into print. I hope to have it published within a week or two. We’ll see. I need to find some beta readers, but don’t really know who to ask. It’s a lot to ask of a person. My dad’s read it, and seems to be a fan. We’ll see.

Now, my head hurts. Time for a glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

