The Dark Tower Comes In!

Posted: January 15, 2013 in Books, Reading
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I am a huge Stephen King fan. Well, I say that when I’ve only read three of his books. Actually, four counting Bag of Bones.

I read The Stand when I was a teenager, maybe fifteen or sixteen. The extended, 1100 page version. I was completely floored and finished the entire book in about a week. It was books like that which made me want to become a writer.

I also read Carrie when I was in college…that was also quite the fun read.

On Writing still remains perhaps the best book about writing I’ve read…not so much because it gives you the nuts and bolts, but because King’s words of wisdom proved to invaluable to me, such as: write every day, read a lot, don’t watch too much TV/play too many video games, expect rejection, etc…

I know these are things that any successful writer would tell you…all the same, King has been one of my many author mentors, as I’m sure he has been for thousands of others.

And now, I have in my mail what many consider to be his magnum opus: The Dark Tower. I am super excited to start these. In the forward, Stephen King says The Dark Tower was the ambition of an arrogant nineteen year old, and I love that. I have such arrogant ambitions myself with a fantasy series I’ve been cooking up since my early teens.

Stephen King said The Dark Tower was his Lord of the Rings: the same scope and ambition, only in an American, fantastical setting.

Also, I love the cover box. I think I got this off Amazon for about twenty bucks.

Dark Tower

The Stand

Carrie

on writing

bag of bonesBy the way, Mr. King (if you just so happen to be reading this)…when you type in “The Wasteland” in Amazon my title appears next to yours. 😛

Leave a Reply

