Results of the Night of the Necromancer Giveaway

Posted: January 28, 2013 in Announcements, Giveaways
Tags: , ,

I’ve been posting (spamming, more like) about it often on Facebook and a bit on Twitter, but here are the numbers (as of 10:12 p.m., so there’s still a few hours left on the giveaway).

U.S. Downloads: 1768

U.K. Downloads: 96

Germany: 8

France: 3

Canada: 9

Brazil: 1

Total Downloads: 1885

This might sound a bit weird, but I was expecting a little more. A few blogs posted about it…nowhere as many as I thought. Then again, the download numbers might have been a bit lower without that promo, but for the most part it seemed the readers found the book on their own. By late afternoon yesterday, Night of the Necromancer was already in the top 10 in both free paranormal and free horror.

Then again, who am I to complain? 1,885 is a large number of people to have your writing in their hands. I bet a lot of people don’t get as high on the lists as Night of the Necromancer got.

ImageThis was the only screenshot I took, and it was taken probably late morning of Saturday 1/26/2013. As you can see, this is Night of the Necromancer at #15 on the free horror column.

The question, “is this working in getting my books more exposure?” It’s hard to say at this point, but it does seem to be working, at least in the short run. I can only hope that all these readers like my books enough to tell other people – which is really the point of the whole thing. I’ve been really encouraged by positive reviews on Apocalypse that seemed to come as a result of the promo, and sales have definitely spiked a little bit.

There are always positive reinforcements going on, but right now I’m tired so it’s just hard to focus on them. I just want to say that it is really great to see some results after working hard, and I’m not just talking about the free promo, but the whole “operation build a platform” thing. It’s like I’m trying to push a heavy boulder – but hopefully once I get it started, it will be easier to keep the momentum going. I’m definitely, definitely a lot farther along than I was two months ago – even one week ago. There are at least 4,000 people worldwide who have read my name and have my books – that has to count for something.

In a way, having people read my books, even if they are free, is a victory. It’s a lot of exposure, and a lot of eyes seeing something I created, something I worked very hard on, and in some cases poured my soul into. Trying to put yourself out there is tough, because people are inherently skeptical (as they should be) of an indie author, because there is so much that is bad out there.

I think the coming weeks and next month will tell a more full story, but I’m hoping that this is enough to get a snowball rolling down the hill.

It’s been exhausting, in a way. I’m a little burned out on promoting. It seems for the past two months I’ve done nothing but format, check for typos (not all of which I’ve found), submit to blogs, and plan my free days – among other things I’m sure I’m forgetting. I woke up at 9 this morning, and slept three hours this afternoon, and I’m still tired. I want to get back to the actual writing bit, which is the reason I’m doing this.

I’ve sort of hit a bump with my fantasy novella – I’m having the usual crisis I always seem to have after a first draft, of believing that it’s horrible and stuff. I think maybe it is, but I might be able to fix it. It seems like a huge mountain at this point. I’m outlining book two of The Wasteland Chronicles, but am having trouble finding a way to keep the plot moving until the end.

Those are questions for another time, however. After this, I’m going to take a break from promotion for a little bit. I’ll still post on this blog for sure. I know lately all my posts have been about writing, books, sales, blah, blah, blah, but hopefully I can get away from that for a while. I don’t want to lose the magic of writing and creating a story, which is the reason I do this, anyway.

There’s still some time left on the giveaway, so if you’re reading this, hurry on over to Amazon and get your free copy of Night of the Necromancer.

As always, thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

