The Community

Posted: January 30, 2013 in TV
Tags: ,

I haven’t posted in awhile (meaning a couple days, at this point).

I think I’m very ADHD. I’m reading several books at the same time, and writing several books at the same time. I’ve gotten into the habit now of waking up at 4:30 a.m. Which is cool, except when I get jaw-cracking yawns around 7:30 p.m. when all I want to do is watch Community.

Image

Which leads me to clumsily segue into this show, which is like the greatest thing, ever. I cannot remember laughing so hard at anything, the Office included even in its glory years.

I know this show is probably old news to most, but I’m always late for the train as far as pop culture trends go. My head is in the clouds most of the time, but when I’m not writing, I’m usually watching some form of TV, reading, or of course playing Skyrim.

What do I love about Community? It’s very fresh. I just watched an episode in season three where there are seven different stories, each one based off how events would have gone if a die had rolled differently. Every year, there’s an infamous paintball episode, each one topping the last, and sometimes there are so many pop culture references going on that it is bewildering (in a good way).

Then, there’s Chang. Don’t even get me started on Chang.

Like any good show, Community has characters that I’ve absolutely fallen in love with. Each is extremely well drawn out, and it’s just such a good show. As a writer, all the subtle jokes that would slip by a lot of people are very cool. This is a show where the humor is very layered. You could watch episodes multiple times and still get new things out of it.

I’m sure a lot of people, my friends included, already watch this show, but for some reason it hasn’t seemed to catch on to the forefront of popular culture, the way Downton is right now. It seems so surprising to me that I show this good is teetering on the edge of maybe not getting picked up again. This is good TV…like Arrested Development good. Maybe that’s what’s cursing it.

I don’t know, but I’m hooked. I’m in season 3 and I think I’m going to have any issues catching up for when it starts up again in February. I’ll see the rest of you Communitees there.

Leave a Reply

