So, how am I actually doing….

Posted: February 1, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I know people are curious, and it seems when I post these crazy numbers on Facebook, it might seem like I’m taking off.

I don’t believe I’m going to “take off,” although I do believe if I keep at it, keep writing quality books, and keep promoting, I’ll experience a gradual climb as a result of hard work.

That’s what I’ve done. I’ve worked really hard on my writing in the past couple months. I’m starting to see the first results now, and I’m starting to re-preoritize finishing new projects rather than promoting the ones I already have.

So that leads to the question – am I really a gazillionaire? No. I work in a warehouse, so I definitely don’t think I’m a gazillionaire. Although I’m making more than I did before, I still have yet to see my first royalty payment. That comes at the end of February (for the month of December…a writer is always paid, but always late), and I won’t see any royalty for January until the end of March…and by that time, Origins will be out, and hopefully my fantasy novella will as well.

So this month, without counting the free promotion I did, I had 119 downloads on Apocalypse.

My thoughts: that’s over twice as many as I had last month. At this time two weeks ago, I had less than thirty sales in January and three reviews (Now, there’s eight reviews and hopefully more are coming). That’s pretty cool. What’s cool about some of these reviews is that I believe  they are from people I don’t know, and they are generally rating the book 4-5 stars. Which is awesome.

How much money is that, exactly? Probably about $236, minus taxes. Nothing to sneeze at, but I’m not quitting my job any time soon. If I had several other books, maybe. Despite what you see in the news, runaway bestsellers (one-hit-wonders, if you will) are actually pretty rare. That’s why they make the news, because they are the exceptions.

I’m telling myself not to check my sales page as often as I do, but I keep coming back to it. I need to at least have a few more books out there. In fact, I should be writing now instead of writing here.

But still, I’ve never had that many downloads in a month. Ever. It’s really cool and I hope it lasts.

The reason is clearly because of the two day free promo. Maybe they don’t work for everyone, but it seemed to work for me. It’s almost two weeks later and I’m still seeing a boost. All I know is I’ve had 80ish downloads in the past two weeks.

Currently, I’m holding off the promotion (though when the paperback copy is ready to go for Apocalypse, I plan on doing giveaways on Goodreads). Right now, I have to finish my sequel, Origins, my fantasy, and my romance. Yes, I said romance. I don’t know if I’ll actually finish that one, but we’ll see. It’s been interesting to write, and something out of my normal purview.

Leave a Reply

