Writing is an every day thing

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Writing
Tags: ,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. I’m still writing every day – which is far ahead of where I was a couple months ago.

I’m starting to realize more and more how hard it is to make it in this business. There is so much competition, yet at the same time, you can’t focus on the competition and you just have to concentrate on your own stories and make them the best they can possibly be. For someone like me, who’s in the learning stage, I’m going to make mistakes still. This might sound strange to say, but thankfully my ego is just big enough to still think I have a shot of being noticed. I still know I do, and I’m glad for that.

I think I’m getting better, little by little. KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing) is a good training ground. It’s also good because there’s a chance you can make money there. I say “chance” because writing is never a sure thing. There is a strange mix, in varying degrees, of skill, work, and luck. I can’t control how many people buy my books, but I can control how much I write. I can control my skill and my work by writing every day, and as they say, luck favors the prepared. I’m hoping to do be done with book two by March, and I think I can make that goal. I hope to take a hearty bite out of it this weekend, and for the most part it seems to be writing itself.

Writing is a slow game, and I think working a job inspires me to keep trying, even if I wish I had more time to do what I love. When someone tells me they like my book, or if someone I don’t know reviews it on Amazon and says it goods, it makes it all worth it, in a way.

I think Apocalypse might be the best thing I’ve written, not in the sense that it’s amazing, but it is decent. It is good enough. There are some mistakes in there that I would change in the future – the beginning is a bit slow, the ending a bit rushed, some people die off without getting due resolution (which happens in real life, but not often in fiction life). One reviewer said it was dark, but I guess that’s what you get when it’s an apocalypse. That’s kind of what I was going for, anyway. I wanted my main character, Alex, to be reduced to nothing but the clothes on his back, and I think I accomplished that.

All the same, Apocalypse is the best-plotted thing I’ve written, and it has an interesting world. The characters didn’t develop as much as I would have liked them to, but they were developed enough for the purposes of the story. Things are getting a little more tense in book two (I might post some text from it later).

I think Origins will be better than Apocalypse. It has a darker vibe to it, if that even makes sense. In it, the darkness and senseless pain of the world will be made all the more apparent, and Alex will have to deal with it. It will also foreshadow books three and four (yes, there will be four now), where the game will change completely. Everything is just going to get bigger and bigger, until the final showdown at the end.

Leave a Reply

