Need to post!

Posted: February 13, 2013 in Books, Writing
Tags: , , ,

Has it really been three days since I’ve posted? Yes, I guess it has.

I’ve been very tired lately – and busy too, I guess. I finally reached the point in my novella that I’ve been waiting for. The apocalypse team is on the road again, saying goodbye to raider town. It took near twenty thousand words for them to get there, about twice as many as I expected. How much of that stays remains to be seen when I go back over it.

Already they’re running into a lot of trouble on the road. They’ve already downed a giant, zombified, troll-like thing and there’s a lot worse waiting ahead of them.

If I stick to my 40,000 word goal, then I guess I would be halfway done with the first draft. Only…this one might go even longer. It’s always hard to tell. If it does end up being very long, I might decide to split it into two books – but it would have to go 25,000 to 30,000 words over my goal for me to decide to do that. The upside of that would be is you wouldn’t have to wait three months for the sequel to come out.

I’m just anxiously waiting for the paperback copy to be ready so I can start doing giveaways. I just can’t wait until book two is finally out and the cover art is done and all that jazz.

Oh yeah, I turned 25 yesterday. I think in my high school/college days, my imagination pictured me already having six wildly successful books by now. I’m just now realizing the amount of work is required, and I’m just now starting to take to it. In the past two months and a half, I’ve definitely done more writing-wise than at any other time of my life. I have focus like I never have before, which is great. I’d like to think it’s something special I did, but we all know it’s probably just coffee. I just wished I had learned all these things two years ago, instead of now, when the e-book market was smaller and it was a bit easier to get established. But I still think there is plenty of room for someone who is talented and is willing to put in the work…and hopefully I am both of those things.

Leave a Reply

