In which I slept for 11 hours…

Posted: February 15, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , ,

I got home yesterday at about 4:00 after a trip to Wally World. I got off work at the very early hour of 3, and was already trying to stifle some jaw-cracking yawns. When I got home, I ate dinner and started to read. By 5:30, I was out like a light.

Then, 4:30 came around. I had just slept eleven hours.

I have no idea how I slept that long. The last time I slept like that, I was probably a little kid. This isn’t the first time…on Monday or Tuesday, I was in bed by 7:30.

I now have a job where I move around a lot – lifting, walking probably five miles a day (maybe even more). I’ve definitely lost a bit of weight. It’s hard for me to decide whether I like it or not. If there is one positive, I’m getting plenty of exercise, and I don’t have problems sleeping anymore. I can always depend on my brain to mentally exhaust itself because I’m a nonstop thinker, but up until now that physical element was missing. Even when I was running a lot, I probably did not burn as much overall calories as I do now on a day to day basis.

Anyway to quote Mr. Gump, that’s all I have to say about that. In other news, my paperback edition for Apocalypse came in (version two), and so far everything looks great. I think this one will for real will be available for purchase very, very soon, and I’ll probably be hosting my first Goodreads giveaway next week – which is very exciting. I haven’t done anything promo-related for a while, being tired and working on finishing my sequel and such.

The sequel is coming along quite nicely. I hit 24,139 words this morning, and discovered a plot element that’s going to even make the stakes higher. I didn’t really plan on adding this in until today, but it hits all the marks. It expands the world I’m creating, it makes a new threat to the main character and his mission, and overall just provides a more compelling story.

I’ve been working on the book for two or three weeks, and hopefully I’m still on track to have it online in March, the time I set for myself.

Leave a Reply

