Another post…about the “muddle”

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Writing
Tags:

I’ve reached word 29,000 of my book, and it has hit the dreaded muddle.

What’s this “muddle,” you ask? Well…it’s the part of the book that’s hardest to write for me…the middle. It’s like slogging through a swamp, and it’s the part where my books most often derail catastrophically.

This book is getting longer than I wanted it to. I aimed for forty thousand words, and I feel I’ve just now reached the halfway point. I can’t see myself finishing it before fifty thousand words. We’ll see how much gets cut in the end.

Over my time writing, I’ve learned some ways to deal with getting through the despairing middle of the book. They are:

1. Plenty of action.

2. Plenty of unexpected plot twists (things that you, as the writer, didn’t expect…this is why I’m now a fan of not making outlines, because outlines are too predictable).

Other than that, I’m clueless. I’ve written four thousand words this weekend, which might seem like a lot, but I wanted to get further than that. I’ve at least set it up for the most interesting part of the book to me. Those scenes will be fun to write.

I’m starting to get burned out…just a bit. It’s kind of hard to write and focus when everything is just sort of blah in general. Blah blah blah. Am I allowed to whine? I guess so, since this is my blog. Just another existential crisis, folks, nothing to see here.

Hopefully all this can be done by March. That gives me a month, and a few days. Which might seem like plenty of time, but really…time goes by quick. It’s just gotten to the point where it feels more like work than fun now, which is what always tends to happen. Strangely, when I go through the parts that are “inspired” and the parts I wrote in cold blood, they read much the same.

Anyway, hopefully this coming week is better. I just want life to throw me a bone…just this once. Please?

I swear, after this I’m going to write a romance or a mystery or something. I want to try something that’s completely different from what I’m doing now. Post-apocalyptic/dystopian stuff died with 2012, but I still have an interesting world and several more books to explore it. Things get crazy later, I promise. I’m just ready to get to those crazy parts.

Comments
  1. You mention “the muddle” and this reminds of Avi’s book. Read about it on this link:http://marygilmartin.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/authors-avi/

    • Kyle says:

      That’s interesting, I’d never heard of him. I think anyone who has written any story (books in particular) are well-acquainted with the muddle. I got the name from James Scott Bell’s Plot and Structure book though I’m sure the term was coined before him.

Leave a Reply

