Origins First Draft Done

Posted: March 3, 2013 in Announcements, Writing
Tags: ,

Well, I did it. I completed my fifth book (it’s fifth I think?), and soon-to-be published third book.

Origins was a lot of fun to write. A lot of fun. Probably the most fun of any book I’ve written. I think the beginning is kind of slow…but once it hits word 20,000 it really picks up.

Then again, I don’t think I can tell until I go back and read it. I hope to have it finished and online by March 31. I hope. I know editing is a very, very long process. There might be problems with content or plot I wasn’t aware of while writing. All these things will reveal themselves, but I promised myself and my readers that it would be out in March, and I’m trying my best to meet that goal.

The good news is, the raw product is there and it just needs to be refined. It’s a lot longer than I originally planned it. It’s technically a novel now, and not a novella, at about 54,000 words. I needed that much to tell the story without rushing it – yet at the same time, some of it might be superfluous and can be cut. Like I said before, I need to read it first to see. I guess readers will get more bang for their buck, and it sort of addresses the semi-complaints that the first was too short (although, I meant it to actually be shorter).

I’m excited to go back and edit it. That might sound weird, but I’m really interested in seeing how the story actually reads. I’ll probably break from it for a couple of days…maybe more. I wish I could for at least two weeks, only I don’t really have the time for it. I really want to get started and have it done as quickly as possible.

For better or worse, Origins is here.

Leave a Reply

