Only One Thing Matters at this point

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

Starting last November, I gained a huge burst of energy regarding my writing. I wrote everyday, sometimes even waking up at 4:30 in the morning. During that time period I completed my novella, Apocalypse, and published it, as well as the first draft of another novella, as well as another novella, the one I’m working on now.

In addition to writing, I also researched what it took to be successful as a writer. Writing compelling fiction was the most important part, obviously, but I also learned about promotion as well as countless other things.

I’ve learned more about writing here on my own in the past few months than probably at any other point in my life, and it’s because I just went out and started doing it.

Now, as I feel all that energy ebb away, finishing this book I’m working on now is the only thing that matters. I’m giving it one more read through, afraid that even one more will be enough to burn me out. I am just ready for it to be done, but I can’t publish until it’s ready. That is a fact.

It is getting close. If I had to predict, it will be published in a couple weeks, on the short end. It all depends on when my beta readers finish. They’ll be starting soon, and after that, copy editing. Once all that’s done, and the final changes made, it will be uploaded anywhere e-books are sold.

This is pretty much the only thing that matters to me at this point. I don’t know why, but I feel like if I don’t make something happen now, nothing ever will. I put off writing for too long. I always wanted to be a writer, and always thought about writing, but I just never sat down to do it because I would get frustrated at how hard it was. Normally, things come easily to me, but writing a book is hard. Writing a good book is even harder. I still don’t think I’m at that point, yet.

I just think about all the time I wasted in college and high school, when I had the most time of all to write. However, what I didn’t have in high school or college was a real world perspective. Ever since graduating everything has changed – about my life, how I see things…the bubble burst. I have become a lot more realistic about things, I think, and that caused me to finally sit down and write something.

Writing is one of those things where the work is never done. I feel like I’m losing hold of my productivity. The fact that I don’t update this blog near as often is evidence of that. A lot of times I just find myself starting at the screen, a mental block in my head because my mind is refusing to go on.

That’s why finishing this book matters so much. Once it’s done, I can focus on the other things that have fallen to the wayside. I don’t know why I’m struggling to write this one so much. I don’t really think it’s particularly good. Then again, I don’t know – maybe it is, and maybe I’m just too close to it.

Well, I just needed some space to ramble and rant before going back to editing. I just want some forward progress but it’s hard to keep walking when you’re feet are stuck in the mud.

Leave a Reply

