Revisiting Book 1

Posted: April 26, 2013 in Writing
Tags:

Well, I’m kind of bored and need a break. I’m reading through Book 1 right now, trying to make it in line with Book 2. There’s not much to change. Must of the stuff is background, about the xenovirus, xenofungus, xenolife, etc.

I combined Books 1 and 2 into a master copy. So far, it’s 91,000 words. Officially, I believe this is the longest thing I’ve ever written. By the time I’m part way done with Book 3, I’ll be over 100,000 words, which is really cool.

I really do think I’m getting better. Reading over Book 1, I can even tell a difference. I think it will flow a lot better once I’m done with it, but this is just a light edit. It won’t change any of the content, per se, though I do go a little more in depth into the xenovirus in the beginning, to line it up with what’s revealed in Book 2, as well as to keep some consistencies.

I can’t wait for Book 2 to come out. I’ve been working on it so long, and from what my amazing beta readers have told me, it’s good. It’s edited, I could literally upload it right now. But I want to be sure the new version of Book 1 comes out, with a couple chapters of Book 2 stuck in the back as a teaser.

These next few weeks are going to kick my butt as things at work kick into overdrive. I am so exhausted, even now, that even the thought of writing is very difficult to deal with. I want to write, but it’s really hard when you’re so wiped from work that you want to go to bed as soon as you get home, even if it’s still bright outside.

Some form or other, this thing will get finished. I will do five books total in the series, as well as appendices, maps, a glossary, and a bestiary. I loved reading stuff like that at the end of Lord of the Rings, and there is so much action in the books that it’s hard to just pause and worldbuild, even if that’s what I want to do. I could literally write chapter after chapter of my world and how it works. Maybe ten percent of what my world is actually makes it onto the pages. It’s about finding the right balance, and I’m trying to keep things lean and fast-paced, for the most part. If readers want more, then there will be appendices.

Once all the books are done, the whole thing will get a rewrite. Think of it as a “special edition”, with deleted scenes and stuff added back in. By the time I’m done with Xenofall, the final book, my writing skills will be a lot better. Then, I’ll be able to go back and make the whole thing what it should have been…that is, if I’m not so burned out on it by then.

My next big thing after this? I’m going to give my fantasy series another try, the one I’ve literally started five times and have been derailed every time by something or other. This time, I’m going to kick that book’s booty.

Leave a Reply

