20,000 Words In

Posted: June 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

I’m 20,000 words in, and the entire thing seems very directionless and unfocused. I went back to the beginning to add a bunch of stuff because I want to add a romance subplot and character development, which there has not been much time for thus far. I want to take as long as I need word count wise to get that done.

It’s pretty clear now that this is going to be two books. Book 3 will be called Evolution, and Book 4 will be Extinction. It’s really hard to tell what the overall point of this book is. I want it to be more of a character book than the first two. Book 1 was a survival book, Book 2 was a quest book, Book 3 will be the main character trying to figure out what he wants and sort of figuring out what he’s about. While the bad guys evolve and become even more dangerous, Alex himself will evolve. Or at least, that’s what I’m hoping for.

For that reason, it will be toughest so far to write. Honestly it’s probably going to take longer than the first two. I don’t know how much of what I have will be kept in the end. It may all need to be rewritten once I figure out everything. I have no idea how long that will take. I could just write this, winging it, and try to have it done as soon as possible, but I don’t think it would be very good if I tried that. If I did try that, it would sort of take the series in the wrong direction.

I feel like the series sort of feels like “teen heroes against the world,” able to fight their way through thick and thin without having to sacrifice much. There’s a lot of books out there like that now, and there’s nothing wrong with it, but I want to write something more true to life. I feel like I’ve written characters who are strong, always know the right thing to do, who are unbeatable. This time, I want to show their weakness and their humanness. I want them to make mistakes. Not necessarily stupid mistakes, but honest ones with the best of intentions. I don’t really know what that will look like, yet. Hopefully I can find it in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

