Writing Ramblings

Posted: September 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

Hey guys. What’s up? It has been a while since I’ve posted. Busyness, you know.

Actually, that’s not really an excuse, because I just haven’t made myself blog in a while. Ran out of things to talk about.

But…

I have a new book coming out soon, and I’m very excited about it. The cover is 99 percent done, and it looks amazing.

In fact, it’s on Goodreads right now, though there will be some minor tweaks to it. I won’t post a link (mostly because I’m lazy). My next post will be of the book cover.

And as far as life…

Well, honestly, I don’t have much of a life right now. Which is a good thing, in a way. It means I have a lot of time to write. It’s ironic that I can write about life when I’m not really living one. Ironic, and sad, in a way. I guess that’s just where I am at this point. I’m determined to keep going until I make it. I want to keep getting better at this, and I see some positive growth.

I’ve sold 113 books so far this month. It’s amazing to see all this hard work I’ve put in paying off, and I’m grateful to many writers for pointing me the right way, whether they knew it or not. As we got into Fall and book-buying season, I’m expecting great things. And starting to publish my books on Barnes & Noble, Apple, and Kobo was the right choice as well. I’m surprised at the amount of sales I’m getting there. I was expecting, like, two, but it’s been more than that.

Last week, Apocalypse went permanently free. It’s something I’ve been contemplating for a couple of months now, and I finally got the cajones to try it. A lot of indie writers have tried it, with varying levels of success. It can be a good tool to get readers to try your writing. Since Apocalypse went permanently free last week, the first book has been downloaded over 1,500 times, in a lot of different places (yeah, I’m looking at you, India). That’s crazy. Of course, the whole idea of giving the first book away for free is that it’ll give the chance for readers to sample your writing at no risk, and if they like what they read, they can go on to the next book. And if they don’t like it, they can leave a scathing review and try to destroy your soul.

Well, hopefully the soul-owning doesn’t happen. So far, I think the permafree thing is working. It’s led to more sales on my second and third books, but it’s really hard to tell until I’ve tried it for longer. I think I’m definitely making up for the lost sales, and hopefully there will be positive growth. My hope is that both books can eventually crack the top 10,000 Kindle books and stay there while the first one stays in the top 1,000 free. That would be amazing, but I don’t know if it will happen anytime soon. Origins has only crept as high as 19,000. Seems it’s harder to get higher ranked compared to the beginning of this year. There are just so…many…books now. But if either book makes it up there, well…did I already say that would be amazing? A fella can dream, I guess.

The only real thing I can do is keep writing. And keep writing I shall, because I love it. I’m glad people are finding the books and reading them. It could be a lot, lot worse, so I’m grateful. Makes me wish I didn’t give up back in 2011 after publishing Necromancer. I wasted almost two years of writing time. I don’t know how much longer these Wild West days of self-publishing will last, but hopefully it will be long enough for me to make my splash.

Comments
  1. Victor P says:

    Love your series can’t wait till book four comes out do you think you can make exceptions of students of underresources that would be a godsend thanks for your time 8D so excited

    • Kyle says:

      Haha, not sure what under resources means but I’m glad you like the series. It comes out next week and I still have to put the finishing touches on it. Working very hard to make sure it’s spick and span. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Vernon Whetstone says:

    Just finished reading book one…was impressed, will be purchasing book two and beyond.

Leave a Reply

