Book 5 Preview

Posted: October 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

I definitely want to get started on Book 5 as soon as I can. I imagine that will start happening soon, as my brain starts thinking of directions the story will go.

For now, though, I’m going to take a little break. A break for me isn’t a break from writing, per se. Instead, I’m going to do something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, now – I’m going to go over Apocalypse again and make it better.

I think the basic story for Apocalypse is good. But I’ve learned a lot over my next three books, and I think I can go back and make it better, what it was meant to be. I don’t know if anything extra will be added, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it ended up a little longer (say, on the order of 5,000-10,000 words longer). Then again, it might end up the same length.

Apocalypse is my first novel. It’s short, but it was meant to be. In fact,  I intended each book of The Wasteland Chronicles to be about the length of Apocalypse. But I think as I’ve gotten better as a writer, my stories have become fuller, resulting in longer books.

I want to take what I’ve learned from the other books and redo Apocalypse. I also want to hire another editor to take a look. Apocalypse was copy edited, but there are still some kinks that can be worked out in that area.

If all goes well, a new and improved version will be online in two to three weeks.

Hopefully, none of this delays the release of Book 5 in December. I already have some ideas for that, too. I’m not committing to any of these ideas, because I may discover that I want to do things differently a little bit down the road.

But my main idea is a novel taking place mostly in Bunker 132. It would be quite a departure from the series, because I’m going to blend more horror elements into it. Not that the rest of the series doesn’t have that, but this one would be even more so.

The novel will basically be the recon team – Alex, Anna, Julian, and Michael – exploring the Bunker and discovering its horrifying past. There will also be back story concerning the Bunker Program, the Dark Decade, and other things that happened in all the years leading up to Ragnarok, including the Chaos Years following impact, up to present day.

I have two titles in mind. Originally, I had planned on writing a short Bunker 132 sequence, and the novel would be mostly about the survival of the Vegas Exodus and their attack on Los Angeles (which is to come). And that may still happen in this novel. Hence, the name Exodus. But I was also playing with the title Darkness, which I feel would better fit the storyline of a novel mostly set in a dark, creepy Bunker – and that title would also be more alluding to the final line of Revelation, which hinted that whatever is found in Bunker 132, it’s more horrifying than Blighters.

So, that’s what I’ve got so far. I really have no answers for what’s to come, other than questions of my own. Whatever happens with Book 5, I’m very excited to get started.

Comments
  1. Lukas Burnett says:

    Hey can’t wait ’till books 4,5,6, and hopefully 7. Hope you reach your goals by next year or so. 🙂

    • Kyle says:

      Actually, Book 4 is already out! It’s not out on iTunes yet, but you can find it on Kindle, Nook, and Kobo! That should tie you over until December!

  2. Billy says:

    When does darkness hit kindle. Im done with waiting!

    • Kyle says:

      I should have posted this to my blog (actually your comment reminded me to to do it), but the release will be delayed a little bit – maybe a week, at most two. I’ve finished the second draft and I’m going to edit it at least one or two more times before my main editor looks at it. Sorry you have to wait, it will just be a little bit longer!

  3. Billy says:

    When does darkness hit kindle

  4. Billy says:

    Ok just was wondering. I couldnt find information on it anywhere

  5. dee says:

    Howdy
    Still finding it hard just waiting. Can you elaborate on the true makers of the fungus thingy …. and will we be seeing a new world order…. again. I am really enjoying this series thanks for sharing your knowledge. dee

    • Kyle says:

      As far as I know the xenovirus it what creates the xenofungus. All xenolife comes from it, depending on what form it takes, including xenofungus.

      As far as new world order, I guess you’ll just have to see.

Leave a Reply

