Today is an Important Day…

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

Book-Cover-Photo

Exactly one year ago, I published Apocalypse. A lot has happened both with the series and in my life since that day. It’s amazing how much things can change in a year. It’s hard to ever imagine anything changing in the day-to-day-scheme of things.

I’ve talked about publishing Apocalypse a lot before in previous posts, but…wow. I could have never imagined that the series would be at this point today. I have had a lot of fun writing it. I’m glad the adventure isn’t over yet, and there is still lots of crazy shenanigans to be had in the final three books – Darkness, Extinction, and Xenofall. These three alone will probably be longer than the rest of the series combined – especially the last book.

It’s a tall order. Even as I’m getting better at writing, the bar keeps getting raised. I can never accept a book that’s not at least as a good as the last one, and hopefully better. I go through a lot of self-doubt when I write, especially because so many people are waiting for the next one. All I can do is write and do my best and take the story where it wants to go.

I have no idea what a year from now will bring. The Wasteland Chronicles will probably have reached its conclusion by mid-year and I will probably be working on something new.

BUT, I can see myself going back to the Wasteland because it’s a world I greatly love, and it’s a world I would like to develop more. There is so much nonstop action in the series that sometimes it’s hard to fit all the world on the page (such as what happened to other countries. I’ve thought about doing a prequel set during the Dark Decade, starring Alex’s grandfather). It would be interesting to explore things only touched on in the series, and there are so many possibilities for stories within this world. I guess only time will tell.

All I can say is – thanks, everyone. The Wasteland Chronicles would not have made it this far without you.

Comments
  1. David C. says:

    Kyle I only recently found your books and I must say I find them extremely difficult to put down. I have read all of them in a few hours because they are just that awesome. I also got my grandfather hooked on them and we have spent many a hour discussing them and wondering what is going to happen next. Thank you for writing this wonderful series and keep up the good work!

    • Kyle says:

      Wow – all I have to say is, awesome. I’m very glad you and your grandfather are both enjoying the books. As far as what happens next, even I have no idea, haha. I’m currently editing Darkness and things change all the time…I have to say that some crazy stuff does happen in this one. Thanks very much for your comment.

  2. Berneil says:

    I keep checking my email not wanting to miss the next book. Time seems to be going very slowly while waiting. It is very hard to find any books as good as you’d.
    Thank u for your gift.
    Have u thought of getting that machine where u talk in it and it tiles what u say. It would help when your thoughts are on a roll.

    • Kyle says:

      Thanks, Berneil. That’s quite the compliment.

      I have tried using speech to text software but I guess I have too much of an accent because it can never get what I say right. I think I’m faster when I type.

      I’m editing the book right now so it should be online soon. Probably later than 12/17, unfortunately, but still with a Dec. release date.

Leave a Reply

