First Draft Done

Posted: December 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

Alright, guys…

I finished the first draft of Darkness last night. I’ll admit, I am pretty behind schedule. I planned on being done with this at least last week, but writer’s block sneaked up on at about 30,000 words. I wrote myself out of it, but now I have a big mess to clean up in the editing process. I think all shall be well in the end, but it’s very hard to see getting this book out in 9 days, as the ticker to the side suggests.

I’m hoping I won’t have to delay the release, but I’ll be working nonstop to edit it to as decent a level as I can. Hopefully all that can happen in nine days, but I may end up needing another week or so…

This may be a case where I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. I may give myself a little extra cushion next time just to be sure. Then again, I always work well under pressure.

The draft as it stands now is about 63k words (about the length of Evolution). I plan on adding some extra scenes and goodness that may stretch that as long as 70k or even more words. This may, in fact, be the longest one to date, which would be pretty awesome. But that will make editing even more difficult.

That said, I’m glad I finished this first draft up. This one was the hardest one to write, I think, must because so much stuff happened. Hopefully I can make sense out of all of it.

Leave a Reply

