Extinction Preview

Posted: January 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

Alright. Darkness has been out for about a week. In the meantime, I’ve been devouring books. I’ve read probably four books in the last seven days alone. Currently reading The Wasteland Saga by Nick Cole. Saw it at Barnes & Noble and just had to get it because of the title. It’s been a great read so far. To put it in a nutshell, it’s what post-apocalyptic would look like if Ernest Hemingway had lived long enough to see the rise of the genre.

Despite the title, it’s pretty different from my book and it’s highly recommended reading.

I’m sort of starting on Extinction at the moment. I know how it begins, and how I think it will end, but you never know with these things. It’s been different with every book. Darkness was very hard for me to write for some reason, while Revelation pretty much wrote itself, for example.

I don’t have much of an idea about this one other than it will be long. And epic. There will be much shenanigans had by all.

Here’s what I can tell you for sure (most of which you will have probably surmised). You will see Los Angeles. You will see Carin Black and the Reapers. You will see Askala and the Radaskim grow in power as the final battle sets up between them and the Elekai. Also, there will be two major twists, one in the beginning of the book, and one at the very, very end, that, if all goes well, is liable to make heads explode.

Right now it feels like this book will be over 100,000 words long. I hope that turns out to be the case because I want something really epic for this one.

I’ve been pretty busy of late, making it hard to find time for writing. I plan on working on it hard this weekend and I can hardly wait for Saturday to get here.

Comments
  1. Jesse says:

    Long sounds good.. I knew this one would end in a cliffhanger, but I wasn’t sure when. I was having some coffee with breakfast, scrolling through my ebook, and BAM. Great read as always – I look forward to Extinction. I was thinking of reading Divergent now, but may take a look at The Wasteland Saga when done. Keep us posted on your progress!!!

    • Kyle says:

      Will do Jesse. Wasteland Saga is great. I plan on reading Divergent at some point, too. Have it sitting on my shelf but still need to pick it up.

      I think Extinction will be really exciting. Just passed the 17,000 word mark (roughly 68 pages in).

  2. Trish says:

    I can not wait for Extinction to come out. I am completely in grossed in the series, from the first book. I hope this story will be long I read the last book way too fast and I’m looking forward to at least a few hours if reading with Extinction. Keep up the amazing work and I will be checking my nook store everyday until its on there. Thank you for your hard work on this series.

    • Kyle says:

      Thanks Trish! I’m really glad you’re enjoying the books. Just to let you know, it probably won’t be out until next month, so you can at least hold off on checking for the new one :). I hope to finish this one ASAP because I know there’s a lot of people waiting on it.

Leave a Reply

