How the Early Morning Changed My Life

Posted: March 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

In early January of 2013, after reading this short book, my life changed completely.

It’s not often that you say that about a book, but within these pages was the secret that has allowed me to write all these books while having a full-time job.

The book surveys the lives of highly successful people and finds one thing in common with a lot of them – they wake up early.

I used to think there was no difference in the time I chose to write: morning, afternoon, evening, whatever. Afternoon was always off the table though, except on weekends, because of my work. I would wake up at the latest possible moment, take a shower, eat breakfast (maybe), and go to work.

I wrote most of Apocalypse in the evening, after work. I didn’t work on it every day, and for a very understandable reason. The last thing you want to do when you get off work is work some more.

Writing is fun, but there’s a lot of times when it’s hard. It can be drudgery at points. I’m reminded of the saying of not liking to write, but liking to have written.

After reading this book, I decided to try the morning. I began waking up at 4:30 at first, but eventually moved that up to 5.

And I wrote. I actually kept up by act of will and coffee. I had just published Apocalypse and wanted to follow-up with my sequel as quickly as possible. I eventually had that written by April that year, and published.

I continued doing this – writing every morning – and spending my weekends working on my book (writing is highly time-consuming, you guys…)

Eventually, it just became normal. I finally had gotten into the habit of writing every single day, in the morning.

This is why the morning is the best time to write:

  1. No one will interrupt you in the morning. This is pretty huge. Evenings are full of events so you’re writing time will CONSTANTLY be interrupted. This very rarely happens in the morning unless you’re a parent of a very young child.
  2. When you go to work, you will already have written. You can come home stress-free and do what you want. You can even write some more, if you’re up to it.

That’s it, really. It doesn’t even have to apply to writing. You can use two hours before you go to work to focus on you on your goals. For me, that was writing. For others, that might be getting in shape. Or going grocery shopping. That might sound weird but it’s a lot easier to shop at 6 in the morning rather than 6 in the evening.

The challenge, of course, is going to bed on time. That’s key, and if you can’t do that, this probably isn’t for you. If you do decide to do it, though, start waking up early and drinking coffee, and eventually, your internal clock will adjust.

This works for me really well because I’m single, live on my own, and I’m not a crazy party animal. My life is pretty boring and mundane, actually. But it’s how I’ve written so many books.

 

Comments
  1. Awesome idea! What time do you go to bed at night if you wake up that early!? I’m not sure I could make it without my 8 hours of sleep. But that would mean me going to bed right after work.

    • Kyle says:

      I like to go to bed around 9, at the latest, 10. Sometimes even as early as 8:30. I live on my own so it’s pretty easy. It I go to bed at 8:30m, fall asleep at say, 9, then I’m getting around 8 hours of sleep. You have to make some sacrifices, at least during the actually work week, but to me the benefits of having that time outweigh the costs.

      • I might give it a try. My husband and I are exact opposites. I wake up really early (already) and he goes to bed really late. I try to stay up with him sometimes, and he will wake up early with me a few times a week, but it’s hard living with someone else, if you ever want to see them.

      • Kyle says:

        True. The right time of day is different for everyone; the point is finding the time that is right for you. As far as writers, there’s some who write really late at night, afternoon, or five minutes here and there. There are many paths to the meadow, as they say.

Leave a Reply

