Making a Routine

Posted: April 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

Day 3 of writing full-time is over. I’ve been trying to find a structure that works for me. I really need structure to be productive, but this is what I’m experimenting with so far:

8:00 – Wake up, make coffee/cereal, eat and check email, sales, Kboards.

8:30-12:30 – Writing, with short breaks here and there. Right now I’m editing Extinction, and priority numero uno is making a decent enough draft to send to the editor. Over the last three days I’ve gotten (mostly) through my third draft. I plan on being done with the fourth draft by Saturday night. If I were still working, and I’d be much further behind by now.

12:30-2:30 – Lunch/Reading/Running. My chance to just get out for a while and not think about writing. Might do errands (got a haircut today, por ejemplo). Might extend this to three or so, depending.

2:30-5:00 Afternoon session. More writing/editing, or things related to publishing my books.

5:00 – I’m a free man. Do whatever, work some more if I want. For the past three days, I have been editing in the evenings because I want to get Extinction out ASAP. Evening session might run 6:30-8:30, at which point I’ll wind down for the evening.

I kind of like this schedule so far. Of course, it’s not rigid, more of a general outline. It wouldn’t really be confined to five days a week. It’s more of like the default day, Sunday through Saturday. Yes, I plan on working the weekends, too. I can’t imagine going a day without writing, mainly because I know how much work I have to do to build my catalogue of books.

For my first three days of writing, though, I’d say I’ve done pretty well. I’ve gotten distracted sometimes, but I’m pretty happy with doing a whole draft in pretty much three days (especially considering how rough some parts were). My fourth passing should go much more smoothly.

What I like most about writing full-time is just the freedom. It’s incredibly amazing to be able to do the things you want and to do what you think is best, trying to find that perfect balance. It might not be for everyone, but I’m pretty disciplined.

One thing I’m noticing as well is that I just have a ton more energy. No more waking up at 5, huzzah! I’m waking up at 7:30-8 now and can honestly say it’s amazing. I’m getting so much more done. I just hope the good times continue.

Another thing I’ve noticed is it’s just really quiet in my apartment complex during the day. I love it! I feel like I have the whole place to myself. I’m actually going to be staying where I currently am for another six months. And I’m definitely loving the warmer weather.

Whelp, that’s about it for now. I just love having all the time in the world to do what I love. I haven’t felt this good in a long time. I’ll literally smile for no damn reason and think: I’m doing it. I’m really doing it. All the hard work and sleeplessness has been worth it. I truly feel like I’m living the dream.

Comments
  1. Barbara Fetty says:

    So Happy for you. You are doing a great job. Love your books.

Leave a Reply

