Book Update

Posted: May 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hey guys. I haven’t updated in a while, so here it goes.

I’m about 78,000 words into Xenofall, and it’s still going. It passed Extinction in length yesterday, but who knows how long the actual, final product will be. I may do a lot of cutting, or a lot of adding, later on. There’s some things I glossed over that need elaboration, and there might be some pointless parts that need to be taken out.

One of the weird things about writing full-time is that I’m working a lot faster. It seems like only yesterday that I was agonizing over Extinction, and now I‘m agonizing over this one. It’s been a month since Extinction has been published, and I’m almost done with this first draft of Xenofall. It really has all gone by in a blur.

Xenofall is still very rough, obviously, because it’s a first draft. I always knew this one was going to be the longest one because of the sheer amount of things that have to happen. On one hand, I want to write it as quickly as possible, but at the same time, I want it to be as quality as possible.

I don’t do release dates anymore, because I never know what issues might crop up when I’m working on the draft, but my guess would be sometime mid-June or so. There’s still a lot of story for me to write, and it will be a challenge to incorporate everything I want in the story. After all, this is the last book of The Wasteland Chronicles and I want it to be the best it can possibly be. The last thing I’d want is to write something that disappointed or wasn’t as good as the previous booksand I’m a little worried about the ending, because it’s going to be really, really crazy. But if you’ve read so far, then I guess you would expect that, because there have been some crazy twists through the series.

Whatever the case, it’s been a pretty amazing journey so far. I hope to blog about it at some point, when it’s all said and done. This is a world I’ve been living in since late 2012, when I first started writing Apocalypse. Approximately 20 months after that point and several hundred thousand words later, it will be over and I’ll start my new project.

I’m really glad the series found some fans because there were times where I was convinced it wouldn’t amount to anything. My main fear is that whatever I do next might not be as popular, but at the same time, there’s no use in worrying about things I have no control over.

That said, I plan to announce my next series as soon as Wasteland Chronicles is complete. For fans of the series, I don’t think you have anything to fear. If you like the Wasteland Chronicles, then my new series will be right up your alley. I’m aiming for it to be a mere three books long. It doesn’t even have a series title, much more book titles, and the idea in my head is still quite fuzzy. But I’m thinking about it a lot, and I think it’s something that you guys will really, really enjoy.

Well, that’s all. I have to get back to writing.

Comments
  1. emorineau says:

    I’m looking forward to read Xenofall. I hope you get to finish it according to your liking. Good luck my friend!

Leave a Reply

