Second Draft Finished

Posted: June 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

I finished the second draft of Xenofall this afternoon. It took a lot longer than I thought, but in the end, I think the book is a lot stronger than before – especially the ending.

On the first draft, I wrote an ending that I envisioned, but almost completely threw it out  and wrote something that was completely unexpected. I like this ending a lot better, because I feel like it’s a lot more emotional and real.

Now, the goal is to get as much as I can done by the 14th. If I’m superhuman (which I doubt), it’ll be done by the 7th.  I still plan on going through two more drafts (per usual).

Hopefully, the next through edits will go more smoothly. Usually they do, because doing the second draft is the hardest part because there’s more stuff to fix, and large sections that have to be rewritten.

Hopefully, not much of that will have to be done for the next read-throughs. I’m just ready for the release! It will probably come out later this month.

Comments
  1. Russell teeters says:

    I stombled on your books & what great reads. I’ve read all of the Wastlands to date, took about 3 weeks (very fast for me) I can’t wait the the next.

    What great gift you have, thanks for the
    Hours of entertainment & great daydreams you’ve given me.

  2. Kathryn McLemore says:

    I am PRAYING that you have it done by the 14th as is my Birthday!!

    • Kyle says:

      Well…it definitely won’t be finished by the 14th. That’s my target to send it on to editing, but it should be out later this month! Wish I could get it out that soon!

  3. emorineau says:

    Good luck with the revisions, I’m looking forward to read Xenofall.

  4. Ze boss says:

    I’ve been reading your series off kindle for a few months now, these books truly deserve more attention! I can’t wait till the next book comes out. Good luck with your revisions

    • Ze boss says:

      How long does the editing take?

      • Kyle says:

        I’ll be done with my end on the 14th. At that point it’s going to go through two different editors and three proofers. The whole process should take about a couple of weeks. Hopfeully it’ll be ready to rock and roll later this month.

  5. robert hayes says:

    can not wait!

  6. rockey2299 says:

    I literally think about this book everyday. I cannot wait for it to come out. Im checking the blog everyday, I’m recapping everything that has happened so far, even started re-reading the series (because it’s SO FREAKING GOOD!!) and it’s killing me having to wait. Please hurry. But take your time because I know it will be awesome. Thank you so much for this AMAZING series. I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us, and anything else you could recommend.

  7. Deb colon says:

    Wow!!!!! I just finished the first book and it was amazing! I can’t wait to begin the second one! Where have you been hiding? Lol
    Thank you for such a terrific story line. Book two here I come!

  8. I enjoyed the series very much. I finished the last 2 1/2 books this weekend.

  9. Fernando Ruiz says:

    Desperately waiting for the book from Dominican Republic. You’re going to kill us!

  10. rockey2299 says:

    I AM DYING!!! Its so excruciating having to wait so long. But great things need patience, so i will wait until it comes out and check ur blog EVERYDAY until it is time. I CAN’T WAIT!!!!! AAAAH😁😁😁😁😫😫😫😬😬😬😃😃😃

  11. Ricky O'Cain says:

    Hi Kyle,

    I wanted to say that I loved the whole series, and after spending the last couple of months waiting for Xenofallto, thinking of how all the loose ends could be tied together, I think the ending was brilliant! Loved the epilogue aswell, really got a sense of how the world was after the events of the final book.
    I am intrigued as to what the other ending may have been, as you said you were close to changing it all together?
    I’d love to hear what the world COULD have ended up like in another universe.
    Regards from the North East of England

    • Kyle says:

      Awesome, glad you liked it. Later on I’ll write a post about that. I’m sure other people are curious, too. I want to wait a couple of weeks at least because iTunes is still working to publish the book and I want to make sure those people have a chance to read it before I post anything spoilerific. I will say that the ending was a little more depressing than what it is now.

Leave a Reply

