138,000 words…and still counting

Posted: December 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

It’s getting close guys, I promise. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I hope for the first draft to wrap up in another 20,000 words or so. I know I said that 20,000 words ago, but things just keep happening and I have to write them as they come.

It’s getting closer, though, to that final action sequence, and I couldn’t be more excited with the way this book is turning out. I’ll have to re-balance the beginning to match and tweak a few scenes, but I’m just ready for the writing phase to be done and the editing phase to being.

I added a new Xenoworld Saga link the top of my blog for those interested in further information on the series. I had this whole thing written out, but so many details are still subject to change that I don’t want people to think a certain element will be incorporated when, in actuality, I might decide to take it out last minute.

Honestly, I think Prophecy (the working title of book one) has the potential to be better than The Wasteland Chronicles. I’m allowing myself to take more time and really build the world, which should make for a richer reading experience. There will be plenty of action and twists as well, as might be expected of a Kyle West novel.

I actually think it’s kind of cool that I’ve written such a long book so far. At the beginning of this project, I was aiming for 70,000 words. In retrospect, that feels kind of funny. It’s hard to believe I’ve almost doubled that by now.

I expect it to top out at around 160,000 words, and who knows what edits will do. In most of my books, edits made the book about twenty percent shorter, so there’s that to consider as well.

Ultimately, though the book has taken longer to read, there will also be a lot more of a book to read.

Overall, I’m liking the new direction, and I hope you guys, too. I guess the true test will come on release day, eh?

Comments
  1. Joy Finkle says:

    Yeehaw.

Leave a Reply

