Progress Report

Posted: January 5, 2016 in Uncategorized
[repost from Facebook, but it applies here too!]
So…progress report. The book is slated to go for editing at the end of the month, so we’re looking at a late February release. That’s a lot later than I wanted to put it out, but honestly, I’m not being too hard on myself because this book is almost twice as long as my usual stuff.
For the past few weeks, I’ve been considering splitting it in two because I tend to like shorter novels (because easily distracted me has a hard time sitting down with anything more than 400 pages). Even so, I’ve come to the conclusion that all 150,000 words of this monstrosity needs to be one book and that’s something I just know, but really can’t explain. The entire book has been a journey, literally, both in content and trying to get it done.
So, it’s all going to be one big book and it will still be $3.99. It will be interesting to see how this works out, and if longer books are something you guys will like. Then again if longer books become the norm, I might have to rethink my model, but I’m doing my very best to keep things as concise as possible.
My main business is writing good books and not compromising on quality, or changing a book’s length, when it could possibly hurt that quality. I meant for you guys to get to Hyperborea in this book, so that’s where we’re going, and far be it from me to leave you guys hanging.
So, you guys have a very long book to look forward to. I don’t really want this to become the norm, because a big part of the reason for my success in the past was that I was able to get books out there quickly, and I still believe that is the key to success. But as the series continues, things are just getting way more complex, especially when integrating stuff from the past series and working in the back stories of what has turned out to be a very complicated world.
Anyway, this post has been quite the novel in and of itself, and is easily my longest Facebook post (that’s quite fitting, isn’t it?). I’ll conclude by saying that all of you mean the world to me, and I really do think this book is going to be worth the wait. I can’t express enough how much I appreciate all of you, for both your patience and your encouragement. I sometimes I still can’t believe I get to wake up every morning and do this, and with some luck, hopefully that will remain true for the rest of my life.
Comments
  1. Dina Bushrod says:

    Your progress report was great to read. The best part is the feeling of satisfaction and love you feel for what you’ve written. I know I will love it, long or short doesn’t matter to me. Please don’t forget me as an extra pair of eyes, whatever’s on my plate will wait for yours.

    Hope you Xmas was Merry and it looks like the New Year is starting off with your dreams continuing to come true.

  2. Kathryn McLemore says:

    I have Faith in you to get the book done in the time you need. I have enjoyed reading all of your past stories and wait patiently for this New one!!! Keep up the good work!!!!!

  3. Dailyn says:

    How long do you think it will be for the book to come out to hard copy after you release it?

  4. Sierra says:

    Can’t wait!!! πŸ˜€

  5. marisa says:

    So freaking excited!!

  6. Mad Adam says:

    Posts like this show how much you care about your readers.

  7. Sierra says:

    Still eagerly awaiting this book – can’t wait to read it!!!! On the edge of my seat for the upcoming journey! Thank you for doing what you do! Keep writing!!! πŸ™‚

    Sierra

    • Kyle says:

      Shouldn’t be too much longer now. Don’t want to give a firm date but it’s getting edited and after that it’s just a matter of cleaning things up. I think you’ll really like it.

  8. Nicole Seever says:

    Just finished The Wasteland Chronicles Book 7. I cried my eyes out. It was such a great series. I fell in love with every single character and by the end I ended up liking the people I thought I would consistently despise. The character development was fabulous and I felt like I was with them through it all.

    Keep up the good work. I’m glad I have all the books on my Kindle so I can go back and read them whenever I want. About to start the next adventure.

    Love,
    Your Missouri Bookworm πŸ“šπŸ›

    • Kyle says:

      Glad you liked it. You should definitely continue to the next series if you liked Wasteland so much, it’s called The Xenoworld Saga. It’s not completed yet, but the first two books are out and the third is nearly done. Thanks for the comment!

      • Nicole Seever says:

        Hey! When do you think Book 3 will be available for download on the kindle?? I’m anxiously awaiting. 😁

  9. Mark Weston from Tasmania. says:

    I would of probably only read 6 books in my whole life for pleasure. I have now read all the Wasteland and all the Xenoworld so far, I just can’t stop reading once I have started. Thank you so much. Hope there are many more

  10. J. McLain says:

    Just finished Bastion, hopefully it come out very soon!

Leave a Reply

