Book is in Beta Reading Phase – Should be Out Soon

Posted: March 7, 2016 in Uncategorized

My guess is a couple of weeks or less. Beta reading is the very last phase, done to find those final mistakes that were missed in the first few rounds of edits. After that it’s just a matter of formatting and slapping on the cover.

Thanks for being patient. I know it’s been quite a while since the last book, and I hope the wait will be worth it. So far, the few people who have read it have said it was good, which I’m happy about.

After this, of course I’ll be getting started on the fourth one. I have a few thousand words down but I have no idea where it’s going. This really isn’t a big deal because some books I know where it’s going, and others I have no idea. This is going to be one of those “no idea” ones. It’s different from Wasteland Chronicles in the sense that that series was clearly moving toward a final battle, whereas this one is a bit more open ended (but still has a similar idea). I’m not sure how many books will be in the series.

Already it’s shaping up to be as long or longer than Wasteland Chronicles.  I’m not sure how I feel about that, because originally I only wanted it to be three books and I never wanted a spin off series to overshadow the main one, but it seems that I’m not that great at keeping things concise because I like to explore the universe I created. Even at three books it feels as if I’ve barely scratched the surface. I think it would be a lot of fun to write a book that went into the politics of the world for and having Shanti be a part of it somehow, which would be a nice change of pace from the quest archetype/ point A to point B style of plot that the series has relied on so far.

Then again, it might turn out to be something completely different. There are still a lot of pieces that have to brought together, and a lot has to happen before the second Xenofall arrives. It’s a bit intimidating to be honest, I’m not really sure how it’s going to be done, especially because I feel a lot of pressure from myself to write faster. That’s something I really want to do, but to be honest, it’s been hard to motivate myself a lot of the time. I’m not sure why, but maybe writing ten novels in just a few years can be taxing. Even if other authors can do it no problem, it still seems like I have a lot to learn in that regard.

The writing will probably be pretty light for the next few weeks. I’m actually heading to Spain for a couple of weeks at the end of March. Hopefully I can find some inspiration, and I think I’ve just been stuck in the same place for a while, which isn’t all that great for creativity. I’ve been pushing myself anyway, by hook or by crook, as it were, but yeah, I probably don’t get outside as often as I should.

I plan to basically just see the sights, eat some food, do some backpacking, explore some history, and drink some beer and wine. Who knows what else, I’m keeping it kind of open-ended. I’m really looking forward to it. I also haven’t been on a real vacation since…well, it has been a very long time. Probably ten years. March-April should be a nice time to visit Spain, there are so many places I want to see.

World travel is something I’ve always wanted to do. I’ll be going by myself, mainly because the truth is, finding a travel partner can be a hard thing to do at my age when most people are working a 9-5. And honestly, I kind of like the idea of going on my own.

Well, enough of that. Expect Beacon to be out quite soon. This month for sure.

Comments
  1. Dina Bushrod says:

    I say take your time, why try to keep to a pace that others do. Your stories are filled with twist and turns that need time to develop.

    Don’t forget to go to Rock of Gibraltar, just watch out for the monkeys and don’t overspend at the duty free shops. Check out the unique restaurants by the olive groves and try the amazing soup. Don’t forget see the flamenco dancers, oh and be sure to go to the beaches at Costa del Sol and see the amazing sand sculptors, try out all the tapas with a great glass of wine and if your staying at hotels enjoy the amazing marble bathrooms, oh yes and eat some of the green spikey fruit, it’s delicious.

    • Kyle says:

      Thanks for the tips! I’m not sure if I’m going to make it to the south. I would like to visit everywhere but I’m afraid two weeks won’t be enough time.

  2. Connor Kelly says:

    Well, rest assured that these cloudy states of mind don’t last forever, I’m just recently getting out of one myself so I’m speaking from a little bit of experience. And if it’s any consolation, you have at least one completely loyal fan who’s more than willing to wait for your future releases because everything thus far has been amazing, so there’s absolutely no need to sacrifice quality for speed. Have a good vacation, rest up and hopefully you’ll feel better.
    Ps. If I were to offer help in an area I’m probably not qualified to do so, I’d suggest taking daily walks, nothing crazy like ten miles or anything like that, but just twenty minutes here and there where you just let your mind go where it wants. It’s been surprisingly effective at improving my own mood, so maybe it’ll do something for you. Just something to think about.

    • Kyle says:

      Yeah it’s something I need to do. I think the point I was trying to make is that I used to be able to write far more quickly than I can currently. I’ll give it a try, although it’s going to be a bit stormy here in Oklahoma this week.

  3. izzylea21 says:

    YAY!! I’m so looking forward to BEACON! You deserve a great vacation, I hope you enjoy Spain (though, I hope you boycott the bull fights!) Have a wonderful time. Looking forward to that next series you wrote about! 🙂 Shayla Markham

    • Kyle says:

      I definitely don’t plan on going to a bull fight. From what I understand most Spaniards don’t like them, either, and it’s sort of a dying tradition.

  4. secure336 says:

    AOk buddy the waiting is woefully good. I sit here and there it is. Hehe. Deeman

  5. Adam says:

    One outline, then one chapter at a time is less daunting, especially when you have so many outlines and a very large amount of chapters published!
    I live in Australia, and I think the Australian outback may have some areas that could help inspire.

  6. Tyler Becraft says:

    I can still remember the first time I saw the original series. I was looking for a good apocalyptic book and I found yours and just started reading then I was hooked. I’m 15 and love the series. I’m rambling…

    Hope you have a great vacation to Spain, enjoy the sights and have fun!

  7. Dailyn says:

    I say don’t worry about how many books are going to be in this series, because no matter what we’re going to love and read them. Right now I haven’t read the Xenoworld series because I want to read the Wasteland Chronicles again (for the 5th time) and then zoom on in to the Xenoworld books. I hope you enjoy your time in Spain, and know that you have a bunch of people that support you on your writing journey. I hope you have a good day.

Leave a Reply

